About us

IHEA is a not-for-profit membership organization, with over 1,500 members from more than 100 countries. IHEA is guided by our mission, strategic goals and Bylaws, governed by a Board of Directors and Board committees, and managed by an appointed team.

IHEA’s mission is to foster an inclusive global community of health economists, committed to strengthening the field, sharing ideas and resources, developing and applying economic theory and methods and generating evidence for improved, equitable health and health care.

IHEA’s strategic goals are to: 

  1. Promote excellence in health economics research and teaching: IHEA pursues excellence in the field by supporting early-career researchers, strengthening the capacity of health economics researchers, teachers and practitioners and engaging around different methodological and theoretical approaches.
  2. Promote international engagement and collaboration among health economists: IHEA facilitates collegial engagement and promotes ethical collaborative practices between health economists across countries and world regions.
  3. Expand the profession and its impact: IHEA strives to increase recognition of the contribution of health economics to policy for social good, and to attract economists to the field, particularly in low- and middle-income countries and from diverse backgrounds.


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors meets virtually three to four times a year and is consulted electronically on key issues between meetings.

Kara Hanson


Virginia Wiseman


Audrey Laporte


Claire de Oliveira


Mehdi Ammi

John Ataguba

Priya Bhagowalia

Josephine Borghi

James Buchanan

John Cawley

Sonja de New

Ama Fenny

Dorte Gyrd-Hansen

Tiara Marthias

Shiko Maruyama

Paul Rodriguez-Lesmes

IHEA was formally founded on May 10, 1994, under the leadership of Tom Getzen who served as the first President, and with the support of Joseph Newhouse, Alan Maynard, Chuck Hall, Mark Pauly and Michael Morrisey, who served as the founding Directors.  Since 1999, regular elections for the Board of Directors have been held.  

  • Audrey Laporte, University of Toronto, 2022-23
  • Winnie Yip, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, 2020 – 21
  • David Bishai, Johns Hopkins University’s Bloomberg School of Public Health, 2018 – 19
  • Adam Wagstaff, World Bank, 2016 – 17
  • Terkel Christiansen, University of Southern Denmark, 2014 – 15
  • Anne Mills, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, 2012 – 13
  • Guillem Lopez, Universitat Pompeu Fabra Barcelona, 2010 – 11
  • Uwe Reinhardt, Princeton University, 2008 – 09
  • Jane Hall, University of Technology Sydney, 2006 – 07
  • Bengt Jönsson, Stockholm School of Economics, 2004 – 05
  • Peter Zweifel, University of Zurich, 2003
  • Richard Scheffler, Berkeley, University of California, 2002
  • Frans Rutten, Erasmus University Rotterdam, 2001
  • Mark V. Pauly, Wharton, University of Pennsylvania, 2000
  • Alan Maynard, University of York, 1999
  • Joseph R. Newhouse, Harvard University, 1998
  • Thomas E. Getzen, Temple University, 1994 – 97

Access the Minutes of Recent Board Meetings

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee makes decisions and takes actions on behalf of the IHEA Board between Board meetings. The Bylaws place explicit limits on the decision-making powers of the Executive Committee.

Chair: Kara Hanson

London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Virginia Wiseman

University of New South Wales and LSHTM

Audrey Laporte

University of Toronto

Claire De Oliveira

Centre for Addiction and Mental Health/University of Toronto

James Buchanan

Queen Mary University of London

Ama Fenny

University of Ghana

Finance Committee

The main source of income to fund activities to benefit our members is membership fee revenue.  Registration fees for our biennial congress are set on a cost-recovery basis. We also raise sponsorships and grants to keep membership and registration fees as affordable as possible. 

The Finance Committee monitors IHEA income and expenditure through reviewing the report of the independent auditor. It also provides advice on the budget, financial management and monitors IHEA’s investments.

Chair: Claire De Oliveira

Centre for Addiction and Mental Health/University of Toronto

John Cawley

Cornell University

Paula Lorgelly

University of Auckland/Waipapa Taumata Rau
dimc headshot crop

Di McIntyre

Ex-Officio as Executive Director

Anthony Scott

Monash University

Eve Worrall

Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

Andres Vecino Ortiz

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Access Recent Annual Financial Statements


The Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Promotion and Monitoring Group (EDI PMG) recommends ways of promoting EDI within IHEA, facilitates the implementation of the IHEA EDI strategy and its regular revision, and monitors progress.

Chair: Virginia Wiseman

University of New South Wales and LSHTM

John Ataguba

University of Manitoba

Tuba Saygin Avşar

University College London

Anton Avanceña

University of Texas at Austin
James Gaughan 03

James Gaughan

University of York


World Bank
Yewande Ogundeji

Yewande Ogundeji

University of Calgary
Screenshot 2022-07-21 112900

Kompal Sinha

Macquarie Business School

Phuong Tran

University of Oxford

Board Search Committee

The Board Search Committee oversees the election process for Board Directors and President-Elect. It proactively identifies potential candidates, issues an open call for nominations, screens all nominees, compiles a final list of candidates, oversees the election process, and reports on and ensures transparency in these processes.

Board Search Committee for the 2023 elections:

Chair: Winnie Yip

Harvard University

Ama Fenny

University of Ghana

Shiko Maruyama

Jinan University Guangzhou

Manoj Mohanan

Duke University Sanford School of Public Policy

Paul Rodriguez-Lesmes

Universidad del Rosario, Colombia

Capacity Strengthening Committee

The Capacity Strengthening Committee facilitates the IHEA mentoring and fellowship programs, and identifies other activities to meet health economics capacity strengthening needs.

Winnie Yip

Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Olufunke Alaba

University of Cape Town

Priya Bhagowalia

Jawaharlal Nehru University

Eleanor Grieve

Glasgow University
JK_Passport photo

Kazungu Jacob

KEMRI-Wellcome Trust

Adriana König

Technical University of Munich

Stella Lartey

University of Memphis

Ann Livingstone

Deakin University
K Merollini

Katharina Merollini

University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Paul Rodriguez-Lesmes

Universidad del Rosario
bill weeks

Bill Weeks


Management team

dimc headshot crop

Di McIntyre

Executive Director
Untitled design (3)

Redstone Agency Inc.

Association Management