Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Developing Context Relevant and Inclusive Course Outlines and Reading Lists

June 9 @ 7:00 am UTC+0

Thursday June 9th, 2022; 7AM EDT/ 12PM BST/ 2PM EAT/ 7PM CST & AWST/ 9PM AEST

The Teaching Health Economics Special Interest Group (THE SIG) has organized a series of virtual workshops during 2022. The first workshop provided an overview of curriculum development and writing powerful learning outcomes for health economics courses. If you missed this workshop, you can view the presentations here.

Details for the next upcoming virtual workshops are provided below. All interested in developing new courses or enhancing their own teaching skills are encouraged to participate.

The second in the Teaching Health Economics (THE) virtual workshop series focuses on identifying topics for each session in a course or module and associated reading material. The discussions will highlight the importance of identifying topics and readings that are most relevant to the local context. In addition, the workshop will consider how to ensure courses are inclusive and contain diverse perspectives, based on UCL’s process of developing a toolkit to decolonize global health and development curricula. Finally, information will be shared on how academics in low- and middle-income countries can directly access a wide range of publications to use in their teaching programs at no (or low) cost. The workshop will be 1.5 hours interactive, with structured input from participants, facilitated panel discussions and two brief presentations.

Please note: there will be simultaneous translation into several different languages during the workshop, made possible by a grant from the IDRC

Details

Date:
June 9
Time:
7:00 am UTC+0
Event Category:

Organizer

Teaching Health Economics SIG